Bank of Bermuda Foundation | About

Note: This site depends on modern web technologies to deliver a rich user experience. It seems that either your browser is outdated, or Javascript is disabled. Please consider upgrading your browser or enabling Javascript.


Bank of Bermuda Foundation (the “Foundation”) evolved from the consolidation of the former Bank of Bermuda Limited’s (the “Bank”) three charitable trusts – its Centennial Trust (created in 1990 in honour of the Bank’s 100th anniversary in 1989) and its Educational and Charitable Trusts. The assets of these three trusts were transferred in 2000 into a new company limited by guarantee, namely the Foundation. In February 2004, the Bank transferred its sole membership in the Foundation to the Bank of Bermuda Foundation Charitable Trust with Bermuda Trust Company Limited as its trustee. The Foundation now operates as an independent, philanthropic foundation, providing grants to a wide range of non-profit groups in Bermuda.


The Board is appointed by a committee of current and former Board members.  In general, the Board functions as follows:

  • The Board is responsible for the mission, strategic direction, and policies of the Foundation.
  • The Board ensures the Grants Committee, Review Committees and Scholarship Committee reflect and serve the breadth and diversity of the community.
  • The Board ensures the financial health and sustainability of the Foundation.
  • The Board approves and monitors policies regulating the ethical operations of the Foundation, ensures that the Foundation meets all legal requirements and oversees all grantmaking activity.
  • The Board is independent and is not controlled by any other non-profit foundation or legal entity.
  • The Board oversees a clearly articulated process for board governance.
  • Board and Committee members receive an annual honorarium of between $2,000 and $7,500 and are also allocated a discretionary grant amount each year (between $2,000 and $5,000) to donate to charities of their choosing.
  • The Board meets regularly on a quarterly basis to conduct the business of the Foundation. 

Committees of the Board include Nominations & Governance, Audit, Investment, Public Relations, and Grants. The Grants Committee is new, created as part of the strategic planning process of 2016 with the intent to oversee, coordinate and provide unification of the grantmaking process as carried out by the Review Committees.

Members of the community with a specific interest in each area of funding (Economic Participation, Education, Healthy Families, Connected Communities) make up the Review Committees. The Scholarship Committee is also made up of members of the community. These Committees are chaired by members of the Foundation’s Board and may include some member/members with expertise in the various areas. We make an effort, to the extent practicable, to ensure members of the Grants, Review or Scholarship Committees are not directly involved in the areas about which they make decisions. In this regard, the Board has approved a Conflicts of Interest Policy, which sets out how any potential conflict of a Board or Committee member must be addressed. Review and Scholarship Committees include up to eight members and are responsible for the detailed review of applications and for recommending activities such as research, convenings or presentations related to their area of focus.

Board, Staff & Committee Members

Bank of Bermuda Foundation’s Board. Absent: Mary Hayward and Annarita Marion

The Board includes individuals with experience in finance, investments, banking, governance, law, accounting, trusts, business, insurance and non-profit work. Allison Towlson is the Managing Director, with oversight for the direction and general business of the Foundation. In addition, the Board is supported by Vivien Carter, Director of Programmes, with responsibility for working with non-profit organisations and Kim Pratt, who manages the day to day administration.

Board Members

Area of Expertise
Tom Conyers Chairman Accounting
Margaret Hallett Deputy Chairman Education
Allison Towlson Managing Director Insurance Operations
Judy Doidge Director Banking/Corporate Secretarial & Governance
Mary Hayward Director Finance
Lisa Howie Director Curator/ Educator
Annarita Marion Director Accounting
Tim Marshall Director Law
Joy Pimental Director Insurance
Christa Schweizer Director Law
Craig Tucker Director Banking
Dennis Tucker Director Finance
Bermuda Trust Company Limited Secretary

Our Team

Allison Towlson Managing Director Responsible for the direction and oversight of the general business of the Foundation.
Vivien Carter
Vivien Carter Director of Programmes Responsible for managing and building partnerships with non-profits through the Foundation’s grant cycles.
Kim Pratt
Kim Pratt

Senior Trust Officer, Butterfield Trust (Bermuda) Limited

Responsible for managing the day to day administration of the Foundation.


  • Annarita Marion – Chair
  • Tom Conyers
  • Tim Marshall
  • Dennis Tucker – Chair
  • Tom Conyers
  • Mary Hayward
Nominations & Governance
  • Tim Marshall – Chair
  • Judy Doidge
  • Christa Schweizer
  • Dennis Tucker
  • Allison Towlson – Chair
  • Joy Pimental
  • Margaret Hallett
  • Lisa Howie
  • Kim Pratt
  • Lynne Matcham, Consultant
  • Dennis Tucker – Chair
  • Craig Tucker – DC
  • Nea Dixon
  • Kelly Francis
  • Tim Marshall
  • Kim Pratt
  • Margaret Hallett – Chair
  • Craig Tucker – DC
  • Kelly Francis
  • Martha Kirkland
  • Dwight Robinson
Economic Participation
  • Annarita Marion – Chair
  • Nhuri Bashir
  • Nea Dixon
  • Neville Grant
  • Christa Schweizer
  • Chip Waters
Healthy Families
  • Joy Pimental – Chair
  • Dennis Tucker
  • Burton Butterfield
  • Ronald Simmons
  • William Welton
Connected Communities
  • Tim Marshall – Acting Chair
  • Lisa Howie
  • Clare Mello
  • Anthony Roberts


Click to download (you may need to right-click and Save As.)